And we’re back?

It’s been nearly a year, and so much has happened. Most recently, my summer was consumed with quitting my job in Fargo, finding a new position in Minneapolis, and moving. I’m teaching ballet in the Twin Cities now, staying with my (wonderfully accomodating and supportive and creative and awesome new) boyfriend until my apartment downtown opens up in October, and generally enjoying living in a bigger city with much better public transit and lots more to do.

My gentleman is performing in the Minnesota Renaissance Festival, and making and selling fabric-covered hula hoops there. The making part is with a lot of help from me, but I did teach him how to use the sewing machine very briefly, and on top of basic straight and zig-zag stitching, he can use the quilting guide and buttonholer and wind bobbins. We’re looking into getting him a machine of his own for making the hula hoops, though, because my delicate little Brother is taking a beating producing so many things a much cheaper, sturdier machine could do. I’m thinking he’d do great with one of the vintage Sears Kenmore, Singer, or Janome machines available on Craigslist here.

I’m currently toying with the idea of opening an Etsy shop to sell some felted mittens from a pattern I wrote, and possibly the pattern itself and other things as time allows, and getting into the swing of things with my new job. I’m thrilled to be teaching dance here, and I’m thrilled that I’ll be able to (just barely) support myself on my dance teaching income, but I’m looking for other sources of money, including math and physics tutoring positions, so I can afford a social life downtown as well as the apartment.

Leave a comment

Filed under life

Leave a Reply

