Yarn Vomit

I tried to pull my Stroll yarn from the center.  It made the skein very, very sick, and it puked out a whole knotted wad of yarn.  I’ve since shoved what came out back into the middle, very carefully hollowing out a little spot for it so it doesn’t interfere with anything, and am planning on working from the outside like I was for the swatches.  This is a total bummer for my planned airplane knitting.  When I’m knitting at home, I can set the yarn next to me on my armchair and unroll it as needed, but on an airplane, there isn’t enough room for that, and I don’t want to set my nice, clean yarn on the unknown entity that is an airplane seat.  Other people’s butts have been on there!  There are probably decades’ worth of farts trapped just under the surface waiting to jump into an unsuspecting yarn skein, and who knows what actual vomit, or at least spilled pop, lurks on the hard surfaces?

I’m toying with the idea of winding some center pull yarn cakes, but I don’t want to hand-wind that much yarn and I don’t have a swift or ball winder.  I think I’d go insane.  The inevitable seems to be putting my individual skeins in individual plastic bags (the horror!  the waste!  the crinkly sound!  the static!)  and then setting them in my lap while I knit.  I think I’ll survive.

I don’t know why this is causing such a problem.  I’m doing fine with the yarn for my pointe covers in a plastic bag.  At least it’s not having to move around in the bag, as the Stroll skeins would have to do in order to unwind from the outside.

My life is very dramatic, isn’t it?

UPDATE: I wound two center pull yarn cakes because the yarn just wasn’t working in the plastic bags.  It only took me 20 minutes per ball, but I’m not quite insane yet, and the yarn is much, much easier to work with this way, so those 40 minutes saved me hours of aggravation.

Leave a comment

Filed under knitting

Leave a Reply

