What Is Woolly Nylon?

For my fuzzy pants, I wanted a strong, warm knit fabric.  I’m using a 75% washable wool, 25% nylon sock yarn, Knit Picks Stroll Sock Yarn, but, especially with the washable wool, I wanted to add a bit of extra strength and shape retention.  The swatches I knit stretched a bit when washed and hung to dry.

I’d read of woolly nylon, and when I asked at my LYS, everyone said that it was a good idea but they didn’t carry it, so I ordered some from JoAnn.  I was a little skeptical, mainly because I didn’t quite know what it was and couldn’t find any pictures of what it looked like off the tightly-wound spool.  But here it is:

Before I cut open the plastic cover on the cone, I still wasn’t sure, but the second I pulled the tail loose, I knew that I’d seen this stuff before.  It looks like the same kind of nylon that’s used in the microfiber tights that I wear for ballet, and, let me tell you, that stuff is strong.  I have some pairs of tights that I’ve been wearing once every week or two for the past 5 years. I can’t wait to see how it holds up in conjunction with the yarn.  It’s relatively stretchy, and I think it should provide what I want without cutting into the wool.

For size comparison, here’s the spool of 1000 m of woolly nylon next to the two most common sized Coats and Clark thread spools:

And, just for the sake of keeping me going, here is a gratuitous shot of the progress on my knit boots:

Leave a comment

Filed under knitting

Leave a Reply

