How Procrasterina Plans to Finish This Darn Cowl if it Kills Her

I just love the planning process of a new knitting project.  I get really excited at the prospect of researching on Ravelry and other sites to find the best yarn and pattern, and then tweaking the instructions to fit my measurements.  Then I gather everything that I need, cast on, and leave it sitting out for months.

I have bins and bins worth of yarn sitting in my apartment.  That’s not so unusual for a knitter, but the number of unfinished projects mixed in with the yarn is truly amazing.  I have 1″ worth of a laptop case that I started 2 years ago when the laptop that I’m writing on was new.  I have 2″ worth of gloves that I started for my mom last Christmas.  I have swatches of lace patterns and leafy edgings.  I have single mittens and foot-long proto-scarves.  It’s appalling, and a real drain on the number of needles I have available for a new project.

So, when I bought two skeins of S.R.Kertzer On Your Toes Bamboo many months ago, I didn’t start a new project with it.  I know it’s not the most expensive yarn in the world, but it was a splurge, and it’s delightfully soft, and I didn’t want to waste it on something that would sit on the needles for months before getting frogged when I’d finally forgotten what the original pattern was.

But on November 21, I found Karen Scott’s beautiful Cornflower Cowl on Ravelry and decided that those feminine cables were perfect for my yarn.  I cast on, and now, a mere 2 weeks later, I’m halfway done.

Of course I’m already planning my next project(s).  I need to come up with something to do with the ~1800 yds of 2-ply laceweight alpaca I have, and I ordered some KnitPicks Stroll Sock Yarn in black for a pair of warm up pants/knit tights for dance and Wool of the Andes Worsted in blackberry for some warm up socks to go over pointe shoes.  Let’s hope I get the cowl done before those arrive in the mail!

Leave a comment

Filed under knitting

Leave a Reply

